July Roundup – Where have I been eating this month?

To avoid backlogs in postings and writers blocks I’m going to start doing some quick combined notes about where I’ve been eating this month. July started and stayed hot which called for lots of alfresco dining.

Langoustines from Ubiquitous Chip

Langoustines from Ubiquitous Chip

In London I met with friends at a neighbourhood indian restaurant called Salaam Namaste just off the Grays Inn Road. We were led here by the great Toptable app on the iPhone. Service was incredibly friendly and food was interesting and well prepared. We took advantage of the 30% off deal so was a great deal. I had a mixed kebab starter and a lamb shank special as the main. There are a few outside tables if you want to eat alfresco. 7/10.

I also ate in Glasgow whilst I was there on business at The Ubiquitous Chip which I have eaten at many times before each time the meals were innovative and well cooked. This time was no exception. I had langoustines as my starter which were sweet and meaty. For my main course I had the Marinaded Haunch and Loin of Galloway Venison, Potato and Onion Rosti Cake with Rhubarb, Red Cabbage, Green Peppercorn and Drambuie Sauce which was stunning. 3 courses costs a very reasonable £40. We splashed out on a bottle of Frogs Leap Zinfandel from Napa Valley for best part of £50 but it was well worth it. 9/10

Mid July it was festival time and I was off to Wireless Festival to enjoy the eclectic delights of Pink and LCD Soundsystem. Festival food is notoriously bad and Wireless is no better. The food is cooked for speed not for flavour. I went to one of the noodle bars and ordered spring rolls with chow mein. The spring rolls were all batter and the noodles were just boiled, slicked in oil and raw onion and garnished with a splash of soya sauce. They went straight in the bin. I guess I should have just stuck to burgers 1/10

Also ate at: Byron (8/10), Sade at Exmouth Market (7/10), Santore Exmouth Market(8/10), Necco Exmouth Market (7/10), The Milestone Sheffield (1/10) Awful, just awful.

About mappyuk

Food evangelist residing in Sheffield, London and somewhere around the world.

Posted on July 15, 2010, in Round up, South. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

